Do William Hill Pay First Past The Post

Home » Do William Hill Pay First Past The Post
Do William Hill Pay First Past The Post

The “First Past the Post” (FPTP) rule is a common term used in horse racing betting. It refers to the condition where the first horse to cross the finish line is declared the winner of the race, regardless of whether there were any incidents or disqualifications that might have occurred during the race. This rule is important for punters because it can have a significant impact on the outcome of their bets. In this blog post, we will focus on whether William Hill pays out on FPTP winners in horse racing. 

What Is First Past The Post in Horse Racing?  

First Past The Post (FPTP) is a betting term used in horse racing that refers to the result of the race being determined by the first horse to cross the finish line. It is the most common method used in determining the winner of a race and is used in most countries where horse racing is popular. FPTP is simple and straightforward, with the winner being declared as soon as the horse crosses the finish line, regardless of whether any objections are raised or inquiries are made.

Does William Hill Pay First Past The Post?

Yes, William Hill pays out on First Past The Post in horse racing, which means that if your horse is the first to pass the finish line, but is later disqualified, you will still get paid as a winner. However, this only applies to win and each-way bets placed on UK and Irish horse racing, and not on all races. It is important to check the terms and conditions of each race and bet type to ensure you know the payout rules.    

Exceptions to William Hill’s First Past The Post Policy

William Hill’s First Past The Post policy applies to most horse racing bets placed on races in the UK and Ireland. However, there are some exceptions to this policy that bettors should be aware of. Firstly, the policy does not apply to any horse race that is run as a walkover. A walkover is a horse race where only one horse is entered to run, which means it cannot lose and therefore there is no result for First Past The Post to apply to. 

Secondly, the policy does not apply to any horse race where a stewards’ inquiry is called after the race has finished. If the stewards’ inquiry leads to a disqualification of the winner, then First Past The Post will not apply, and the bettor will not receive their payout. 

Finally, the policy does not apply to any horse race where a dead heat is declared. In a dead heat, two or more horses cross the finish line at the same time, and the result is declared a tie. In this case, the payout will be split between the bettors who backed the horses that finished in a dead heat.    

Tips For Betting On First Past The Post Races With William Hill

As with any betting, there is no foolproof strategy for First Past The Post races. However, there are a few things you can do to increase your chances of success. 

Firstly, research the horses and jockeys, looking at their recent form and previous performances on similar courses. Secondly, consider the weather conditions on race day, as this can greatly affect a horse’s performance. 

Thirdly, take advantage of any promotions or offers available from William Hill, such as Best Odds Guaranteed, which will ensure you get the best possible price for your bet. Finally, always gamble responsibly and only bet what you can afford to lose.    

Conclusion

In conclusion, William Hill pays out on First Past The Post winners for all UK and Irish horse races, and also honors the bet as a winner for antepost bets. However, there are exceptions to this policy, such as in the case of a horse being disqualified after the race or a race being declared void. As with any form of betting, it’s important to read the terms and conditions and understand the specific rules of the bet. By doing so, you can make informed decisions and increase your chances of success in horse race betting with William Hill.